History Majors Selected for Hilldale Undergraduate Research Fellowships

Bascom HallHistory majors Sophia Clark and Julia Derzay have been selected to receive 2021 Hilldale Undergraduate Research Fellowships! The Hilldale Fellowships are generously funded by grants from the Hilldale Foundation and the Wisconsin State Legislature, and provide awards of $3,000 to each undergraduate student selected as well as $1,000 to their faculty advisor to support collaborative research projects. Sophia Clark is a History and Biology double major who will be working with Professor Susan Lederer on the project, “Legacy in Blood: The Social Impacts of the U.S. Ban on Haitian Blood Donation.” Julia Derzay is a History major who will be working with Professor Alfred McCoy on the project, “The La Follette Arsenal of Progressivism.” Hilldale awardees were recognized virtually at the 2020-2021 Chancellor’s Undergraduate Awards Ceremony on April 28.

At the ceremony, two other History majors were also commended for their achievement. William Vuyk has received a $3,000 Holstrom Environmental Research Fellowship for the project “Baseline Microhabitat Thermo-Hydro Ecology of Herpetofauna at El Pahuma Orchid Reserve, Ecuador.” Ani Srinivasan has received the Theodore Herfurth and Teddy Kubly Award for Comprehensive Undergraduate Excellence, which honors senior students who exemplify superior academic achievement, community service and leadership in extracurricular activities, financial self-support, and strong oral and written communication skills.

Congratulations undergraduate award winners! See the full list of recipients here, 2020–2021 Chancellor’s Undergraduate Awards (pdf).