History Logo

UW Links


Home Events General Info People Undergraduate Graduate Special Programs Alumni & Friends

Writing Prizes

The Department offers three writing prizes to recognize outstanding graduate student achievement.  These prizes are awarded in the spring.

The Graduate Seminar Essay Prize: M.A. theses and dissertation chapters are excluded, although the essay may ultimately comprise part of a thesis or dissertation.  Professors who have taught seminars during the previous calendar year may each nominate one student.  Because the essays may focus on either research in primary sources or on historiographic analysis, two awards (one per category) may be given in the same year. The F&S Committee selects the winner. The prize comes with a $150 award.

The Baensch Award in History: Established in honor of Judge and Mrs. Emil Baensch of Sheboygan, the award provides cash prizes for “excellence in preparing theses or essays on some aspect of Wisconsin history.” History Department graduate students as well as graduate students in other departments are eligible for nomination, provided that non-History Department students are nominated by a History Department faculty member.  Faculty members may make one nomination in each category.

The Schrag Prize in German Jewish History: Honoring the memory of Paul J. Schrag, an eloquent witness to the experiences of German Jewry in the twentieth century,  a $200 prize is awarded for the best graduate research paper on German Jewish history. Students may submit their own papers or faculty can nominate papers.

Facebook Gift Employment Acrobat
Contact information for the History Department | Site Index
Feedback, questions, or accessibility issues regarding the web site: Webmaster
Copyright © 2014 The board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System



UW My UW UW Search